Tumbling Words

January 8, 2013

I came across some of William Stafford’s poetry today and love this poem (“Ask Me”) he wrote, and as I was reading his words, others tumbling down in my head….

You asked me

When the rain is falling down you asked me
How many teardrops have I shed for ye
I am listening and looking
Outside at all the rain falling…..falling

Glancing up the inside room is empty
But my cheek bone front is flooding
With rushes meant for thee
Tears and all precious are falling…..falling

Without ye

Ask Me

Some time when the river is ice ask me

mistakes I have made. Ask me whether
what I have done is my life. Others

have come in their slow way into

my thought, and some have tried to help

or to hurt: ask me what difference

their strongest love or hate has made.


I will listen to what you say.

You and I can turn and look

at the silent river and wait. We know

the current is there, hidden; and there

are comings and goings from miles away

that hold the stillness exactly before us.

What the river says, that is what I say.

William Stafford (plus HC – a wannabe).

stafford 3

One Response to “Tumbling Words”


Leave a Reply

